How To Deactivate Kik

There is no question that the Kik Messenger app is hugely popular. Millions of people in the United States and around the world find the Kik Messenger app an excellent tool to both stay in touch with their friends and family, but also to meet new people and make new friends. Despite all of this, there may come a time, however, when you may decide that you want to deactivate your Kik Messenger account.

ADVERTISEMENT

In this tutorial we will tell you everything you will need to know about deactivating your Kik Messenger account. We will begin by giving you all the different things you will need to consider before deactivating your Kik account, then we will give you some alternatives to doing so and, finally, once knowing all the ins and outs of Kik deactivation, you decide you go ahead with it, we will give you a step by step guide to deactivating Kik Messenger.

Of course, we recommend you read the whole article without skipping any sections but if you have already made your mind up and are completely sure that you want to go ahead with the deactivation you could just skip forward and go directly to the step by step guide in the last section of this article.

If you are not sure or would like to know more about what is involved in this whole process, then a good place to start would be by going over the things that are worth considering before taking this step.

ADVERTISEMENT

 

Things to Consider Before Deactivating Kik Messenger

In this section we will go over those things that you may not realize that are involved when you deactivate your account.

  • All your messages will be gone: the Kik Messenger app automatically saves some of the messages you sent and received. The actual amount of messages that are saved or the length of time those messages are saved for depends greatly on the smart phone or smart mobile device you use but, normally we are talking about well over 100 messages. When you deactivate your account, all the messages that had been automatically saved will be lost forever. So, if you are considering deactivating your account you should take a look at your chats and save any messages you would like to keep by taking screen shots. This will save your messages into your smart phone or mobile device photo gallery from where you will be able to read them any time you would like.
  • All your contacts will be lost: anybody that you have added to your Kik Messenger app will be removed from your Kik contacts. This means that if you ever join the Kik Messenger app again, you will have to manually add them all again. Of course, if you also have them as your phone contacts, you can always just use the address book match feature. However, if you have added friends using QR codes (Kik codes) or their user names, it would be a good idea to take a note of those user names so you can re-add later if necessary. Just make sure that you note them down accurately. Also, it would probably be a good idea to let your Kik friends know that you are leave the app.
  • Your login details will remain the same: this is probably the one thing that most people do not realize. What this means is that no matter how long ago you deactivated your account, if you ever decide to download it again and install it on your smart phone or mobile device, you will be able to log back in using your login details. Even if you have forgotten your login details, you will be able to retrieve your old password or set up a new one just by submitting your email address again. This means too, of course, that you will be able to keep your user name; if a new Kik member tries to use your user name they will not be able to even if your account has been deactivated. The only difference is that once you login you will notice that you’re your contacts and automatically saved messages are gone.
  • No one will be able to find you: from the moment you will deactivate your account until you restore it (if you ever do). As soon as you deactivate your account you will automatically removed from all your friends’ chat lists. If anyone tries to find you either by your user name or by scanning your Kik code, they will not get any hits at all. 

Alternatives to Deactivating Kik Messenger

“Unless and until our society recognizes cyber bullying for what it is, the suffering of thousands of silent victims will continue.”- Anna Maria Chavez

Now that you know what will happen if you decide to deactivate your account you may be thinking of other alternatives you may be able to do, instead.

If you are thinking of deleting the Kik Messenger app from your smart phone or mobile device instead of deactivating your account, you should know that some of the effects would be the same even though there are some key differences. If you delete the instant messaging app from your phone and then later download it and install it again, you would have lost all your automatically saved chats. However, you would have kept all your contacts.

The main difference between deleting the app and deactivating your account is that when you just delete it, people would still be able to find you using your user name or your Kik code. This means that people may think that you are still using the Kik Messenger app and, therefore, continue sending you messages that you just would not see. This can cause of kinds of trouble, particularly if you have not let your Kik friends that you are taking a break from the app.

ADVERTISEMENT

If you are thinking of deactivating your account, you should consider the reasons behind this. If someone has been bothering you, you could simply block them. If you have been the victim of a spam attack, you could simply report them to Kik Messenger, which would also automatically block the spam account that has been bothering you.

How Do You Deactivate Kik Messenger?

Okay, so now that you know what will happen if you deactivate your account and what your alternatives are, if you have decided to go ahead with the deactivation, this is a step-by-step guide on how to go about doing just that.

  1. You will, obviously, need to use the smart mobile device that you use for Kik Messenger.
  2. Launch the Kik Messenger app as if you were to use it normally.
  3. Tap on the settings icon. This is the icon that looks like a gear.
  4. You will see several options; choose the one that says “your account” by tapping on it.
  5. There will now be several other options; choose the one that says “log out” by tapping on it.
  6. Next you will be asked to provide your email address. It is important that you enter the exact same email address that you originally used when you first register to Kik Messenger. You also need to ensure that you still have access to this email account. If you do not, you will need to update your email address before you proceed. If you need to change your email account, then go back to “your account” and select the “email” option by tapping on it. Then simply type in your new email address and tap either on the “save/OK” icon or on “change email” (if you have an Windows Phone, tap on the “checkmark” icon, instead).
  7. Once you have entered the email address linked to your Kik Messenger account; that is, the one you used when you originally registered or the one you have attached to your Kik Messenger account since, you will receive an email from Kik.
  8. Check your inbox for an email from Kik Messenger. If you cannot find it there, then check on your junk or spam mail folders. Once you have located the email from Kik Messenger, you should click on the link in the email. This will take you to the Kik Deactivation website.
  9. Enter the email address associated linked to your Kik account in the deactivation website and you will receive another email from Kik with a link that will allow you to deactivate your account.

Deactivating your account is not as final as it may initially sound as you can easily reinstate your account simply by downloading the app and installing again. Then, as long as you log in using the same login details you used to have, you will be able to start using Kik Messenger again. The only problem is that you would have lost your contacts and messages. This is why it is important that you save any information (contact information or important messages) before you deactivate your account.

Of course, before making that decision you should examine your reasons and consider all the different alternatives open to you that we have gone over in this detailed tutorial. Have you ever deactivated or thought about deactivating your Kik Messenger account? Why don’t you share your experience with other readers in the comments section below?

1 Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *